Getting over the shock!

Standard

Its a shock!  You know its coming you believe you are ready, you think you can take it all in your stride.  It doesn’t matter, its just a number.  Your birthday comes and passes reasonably smoothly, you feel fine, brave face on – check.  Then life continues, days, weeks even months pass and you know deep down you are different.  You are starting to feel niggly little aches and pains that you are sure didn’t used to be there.  Your eyes seem to get tired by the end of the day.  Never mind the eyes, if you stop to think about it YOU are more tired by the end of the day!  The realization that you now need to exercise more than ever before, but somehow you seem to have less time than you ever had before.  How is it possible to have less time?  The kids are bigger and most definitely don’t want to hang out with their parents any more, they can even do things for themselves these days, yet free time is less.  Welcome to your forties.  A time for reflection, appreciation and discovery.

I find being in my forties is a transitional period.  In my mind I am not old, I don’t feel old, yet somehow my kids became teenagers and say things like ‘Don’t worry Mom you are not that old’……and then there is those aches and pains and did I mention grey hairs?  All that being said, I think being in this transitional period also brings some peace and discovery.  There are moments when your new not so good eyes notice, and I mean really notice they beauty in nature and in the leaves and the colours, our new not so good ears can hear the birds twittering (if birds do in fact twitter), and we can feel spring in the air or if a storm is coming.   What I am saying is, along with the chaos, teenagers, grey hair and lack of time, there is also a new appreciation of things that you have taken for granted for, well…….for thirty nine years…….

 

Leave a comment